Seattle MLS Cup Winners Image

The Seattle Sounders have won their first MLS Cup after winning in a penalty shootout in front of over 36,000 at BMO Field. 

The Sounders outlasted Toronto after a 0-0 draw through extra time and a 5-4 win in penalty kicks. 

During the penalty kicks, Michael Bradley was the first to miss while Nicolas Lodeiro forced extra kicks by roofing his penalty with the tenth try. Roman Torres converted the winning kick after Justin Morrow hit the crossbar. 

Stefan Frei was exceptional in extra time after preventing a Jozy Altidore header with a remarkable save. 

The result means that the MLS Cup stays in the Pacific Northwest, with Seattle following Portland by winning the trophy.