New York City Football Club Announces Roster Moves for 2024 

MicrosoftTeams-image (1)

Today New York City Football Club announced its roster options ahead of the 2024 season.

Five players have had their options exercised for 2024: Luis Barraza, Matt Freese, Andres Jasson, Kevin O’Toole, and Gabriel Segal. 

The Club declined the options of seven players: Nico Benalcazar, Braian Cufré, Jonathan Jimenez, Alfredo Morales, Samuel Owusu, Matias Pellegrini, and Stephen Turnbull.

Assistant Coach Jose Kléberson will also depart the Club.

NYCFC Sporting Director David Lee said: “While we are certainly disappointed with how the season ended with us missing out on a playoff spot, I’d like to thank all of our players for their commitment this season. It’s never easy to make these roster decisions, but these moves give us flexibility to continue to improve the squad heading into 2024. 

“I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Alfredo for playing a key role in helping us win our first piece of silverware in 2021, and to all the departing players for their professionalism and contributions to the Club. I hope that we will one day see many of them back in our organization in some capacity.”

The following players are under contract for the 2024 season:

Goalkeepers (3): Luis Barraza, Matt Freese, Cody Mizell

Defenders (7): Drew Baiera, Tayvon Gray, Mitja Ilenič, Thiago Martins, Christian McFarlane, Kevin O’Toole, Birk Risa

Midfielders (8): Nicolas Acevedo, Maximo Carrizo, Justin Haak, Maxi Moralez, Keaton Parks, James Sands, Jonathan Shore, Santiago Rodriguez

Forwards (7): Thiago Andrade, Mounsef Bakrar, Julian Fernandez, Andres Jasson, Talles Magno, Alonso Martinez, Gabriel Segal