Protected List Expansion 2019

NEW YORK, N.Y., November 16, 2019 – New York City FC has today announced their Protected List ahead of the 2019 MLS Expansion Draft. 

The draft will take place on Tuesday, November 19 at 5:30 pm ET.

Expansion clubs Inter Miami CF and Nashville SC can select up to five players each from the eligible pool to help fill out their rosters ahead of their inaugural MLS seasons in 2020. 

Only one player from NYCFC can be claimed.

Clubs are allowed to protect 12 players between their Senior, Supplemental and Reserve rosters. Generation adidas, and Homegrown Players ages 25 and under are automatically protected. 

Listed below are the NYCFC players protected, automatically protected, and unprotected for this year’s expansion draft.


1. Alexander Callens 
2. Valentin Castellanos (International) 
3. Maxime Chanot 
4. Héber (International) 
5. Sean Johnson
6. Ronald Matarrita 
7. Alexandru Mitriță (International) 
8. Maxi Moralez (International) 
9. Keaton Parks
10. Alex Ring 
11. Ismael Tajouri-Shradi 
12. Anton Tinnerholm ​​​​​​​

Automatically Protected:

1. Justin Haak (Homegrown)
2. James Sands (Homegrown)
3. Joe Scally (Homegrown) 


1. Luis Barraza 
2. Daniel Bedoya 
3. Jeff Caldwell 
4. Sebastien Ibeagha
5. Gary Mackay-Steven 
6. Jesus Medina 
7. Eric Miller 
8. Abdi Mohamed 
9. Ebenezer Ofori
10. Tony Rocha
11. Brad Stuver 
12. Ben Sweat 
13. Juan Pablo Torres 

New York City FC Submit Protected List for 2019 MLS Expansion Draft -