McNamara USMNT

Johnson and McNamara Earn USMNT Call

Two NYCFC players have been included on Bruce Arena’s 40-player preliminary roster for this summer’s 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Sean Johnson and Tommy McNamara both feature on the list which will be whittled down to 23 players no later than June 27.

Arena’s Gold Cup training camp commences on June 25 in Nashville before they move on to Connecticut for a friendly match against Ghana on July 1st ahead of their tournament opener versus Panama on July 8.

Johnson has earned five USMNT caps to date, debuting for his country against Chile on January 22, 2011.

He went on to be named in the last Gold Cup squad by Jurgen Klinsmann and played in the final match of the group stage against Costa Rica.

This is McNamara’s first national team call-up.

USA earned a 1-1 draw with Venezuela in an international friendly in Utah on Saturday night, with Christian Pulisic scoring the equalizing goal for the Stars and Stripes.

We'll let you know if Johnson and McNamara make the final 23-player list for the tournament here on when we know.

GOALKEEPERS (6): Joe Bendik (Orlando City SC), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas), Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Sean Johnson (New York City FC)

DEFENDERS (12): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Matt Miazga (Chelsea/ENG), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/CAN), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Jonathan Spector (Orlando City SC), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna/MEX), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (15): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/MEX), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/CAN), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Tommy McNamara (New York City FC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Kenny Saief (Gent/BEL), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS (7): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/CAN), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), C.J. Sapong (Philadelphia Union), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)