Mix Diskerud Named to United States National Team Roster for 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup

Mix Diskerud Playing 2013 Gold Cup

New York City FC midfielder Mix Diskerud has been named to the United States National Team roster for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup, U.S. Soccer announced today.

The 23-man roster includes 17 players, including Mix, from the 2014 FIFA World Cup squad.

“I will not only represent my country, but New York City FC and the City of New York,” Mix said. “It’s going to be a great feeling.”

The Group Stage for the biennial competition begins on Tuesday, July 7 and the final will take place on Sunday, July 26.

The host United States are in Group A along with Haiti, Honduras and Panama. The United States plays Honduras at 9:30 p.m. EDT on July 7, Haiti at 8:30 p.m. EDT on July 10 and wraps up group play against Panama at 9:30 p.m. EDT on July 13.

All of the matches will be broadcast nationally on FOX Sports 1 and UniMas.

Mix, who has two goals in 13 matches (12 starts) with New York City FC, helped the United States lift the Gold Cup trophy in 2013 – their fifth Gold Cup championship. The United States has reached the Gold Cup Final in five straight tournaments and six out of the last seven.

The United States, who are coming off comeback victories against the Netherlands (4-3 on June 5) and 2-1 over Germany on June 10, have a friendly against Guatemala on July 3 in Nashville (FOX Sports 1, UniMas, Univision Deportes Network) before embarking on their Gold Cup campaign four days later.

If the United States win the 2015 Gold Cup, they will earn an automatic berth to the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia.



Tuesday, July 7; 9:30 p.m. EDT at Toyota Park (Frisco, Texas) – United States vs. Honduras
TV: FOX Sports 1, UniMas

Friday, July 10; 8:30 p.m. EDT at Gillette Stadium (Foxborough, Mass.) – United States vs. Haiti
TV: FOX Sports 1, UniMas

Monday, July 13; 9:30 p.m. EDT at Sporting Park (Kansas City, Kan.) – United States vs. Panama
TV: FOX Sports 1, UniMas


Goalkeepers (3) – Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club Leon).

Defenders (7) – Ventura Alvarado (Club America), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Omar Gonzalez (Los Angeles Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchengladbach), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers).

Midfielders (9) – Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur), Gyasi Zardes (Los Angeles Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting KC).

Forwards (4) – Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes).