Gameday Roster for 2016 AT&T MLS All-Star Game Unveiled

David Villa and Andrea Pirlo vs. Philadelphia Union

Major League Soccer’s best is set to take on English club Arsenal FC in the 2016 AT&T MLS All-Star Game as the MLS All-Star Gameday Roster including two Commissioner’s Picks were unveiled today. The standout collection of world-renowned talent, domestic stars and young up-and-comers will represent MLS in the summer showcase at Avaya Stadium in San Jose, Calif. on July 28 at 4:30 p.m. PT, live on ESPN, UniMás, UDN, TSN, and RDS.
The 26-man Gameday Roster, highlighted by league-leading goal scorer David Villa, reigning league MVP Sebastian Giovinco, and U.S. Men’s National Team forward Clint Dempsey, is made up of 24 players chosen by All-Star coach Dominic Kinnear, taking into consideration the All-Star Fan XI and player voting, and the two Commissioner’s Picks. The Gameday Roster includes representation from 19 MLS clubs and is a mix of 16 All-Star newcomers and 10 All-Star veterans.

All eleven players named to the All-Star Fan XI, nominated by media and selected by fans, were named to the Gameday Roster including:Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Kaká (Orlando City SC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), and David Villa (New York City FC – AT&T/EA SPORTS™ “More Than a Vote” Challenge).

Joining the Fan XI are 13 additional league standouts: goalkeeper David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), defenders Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Liam Ridgewell (Portland Timbers), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Andrew Farrell (New England Revolution), midfielders Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), and forwards Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes) and Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC).

Rounding out the roster are the two Commissioner’s Picks, midfielders Mauro Diaz (FC Dallas) and Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake).

·CLICK HERE for video soundbytes from MLS All-Star players and coach Dominic Kinnear

·CLICK HERE for the 2016 AT&T MLS All-Star game logo and media schedule. Media planning to cover the 2016 AT&T MLS All-Star Game may apply for credentials by CLICKING HERE.

2016 MLS All-Star Game Roster by Position

Goalkeeper: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Andrew Farrell (New England Revolution), Liam Ridgewell (Portland Timbers), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Mauro Diaz (FC Dallas), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids),  Kaká (Orlando City SC), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

Forwards: Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), David Villa (New York City FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

2016 MLS All-Star Gameday Roster by Team
Chicago Fire (1): Brandon Vincent
Colorado Rapids (1): Jermaine Jones
Columbus Crew SC (1): Wil Trapp
D.C. United (1): Steve Birnbaum
FC Dallas (1): Mauro Diaz
LA Galaxy (1): Giovani dos Santos
Montreal Impact (3): Laurent Ciman, Didier Drogba, Ignacio Piatti
New England Revolution (1): Andrew Farrell
New York City FC (2): Andrea Pirlo, David Villa
New York Red Bulls (1): Sacha Kljestan
Orlando City SC (2): Kaká, Cyle Larin
Philadelphia Union (2): Andre Blake, Keegan Rosenberry
Portland Timbers (2): Darlington Nagbe, Liam Ridgewell
Real Salt Lake (1): Kyle Beckerman
San Jose Earthquakes (2): David Bingham, Chris Wondolowski
Seattle Sounders FC (1): Clint Dempsey
Sporting Kansas City (1): Matt Besler
Toronto FC (1): Sebastian Giovinco
Vancouver Whitecaps FC (1): Kendall Waston